The cousin makes me feel extremely touched sometimes.

One of the elderly uncle who had been living overseas passed away. The cousin’s first instinct was to fly over for the funeral. In times like that, he makes me feel rather ashamed of myself. The thought of flying over did not even cross my mind.

I feel sad over my uncle’s passing but in a rather detached way.

I had some flashbacks of memories with him as a kid. The first memory that came to mind on receiving the news of his passing was coming home after sending him to the airport after his 2 months’ stay with us and feeling an unfamiliar sense of loss. I remembered sharing my thoughts with mum who told me that she felt the same way. The feeling that something was missing and somehow the house felt very empty and vast without his presence.

In a way, that is how the news of his passing made me feel.

Leave a Reply

